Category Archives: Uncategorized

Annual General Meeting

The 2015 Annual General Meeting is being held in the upstairs room of Marl Pits Sports pavilion on Monday 30th November 2015 starting at 7.30pm.

Please come and show your support for the club and have your say on how we run the club, volunteers are always welcome and we promise there will be no press ganging to take on jobs.

An email has gone out with the agenda and last years minutes if you haven’t received this please contact the secretary.

Subs for next year can be paid on the night still only £10 (bargain).

Otterspool, Liverpool Round 10 NWCCA CX League

Heavy rain the day before, and during the event, made survival the aim for many riders in the latest round of the North West CX series at Otterspool Park, Liverpool, last Saturday. Many of the normally rideable short climbs on the technical circuit became treacherous, forcing riders to dismount and run/carry their bikes.

First up was the combined youths event and the Rossendale valley was represented by Adam Nelson who finished in 22nd spot overall and Maisy Vasic who scored a fine second place in the U14G class. In the vets/womens race, Dave Haygarth was toppled from his recent winning streak by Pete Middleton of Zepnat racing. On the same lap, Carl Nelson was making the most of the tough conditions and was the top Rossendale Road Club member, finishing in a sound 35th place. Richie Watts was unfortunate to retire with a dislodged rear wheel, leaving Derek Schofield as the next RRC rider in 62nd, just clear of a rapidly finishing Adrian Watts in 65th. Paul Warrener completed the valley squad in 89th.

Matt James also the going tough in the final Seniors event to take 29th spot, with new member Iaian Hazell riding well to finish just one lap down in 43rd.

Action this weekend moves to Stadt Moers, St Helens with racing starting at 11am on Sunday.

Otterspool Park 31st October 2015

The latest round of the North West cyclo-cross series took place at the popular Otterspool Park in Liverpool on Saturday, and Rossendale juniors continue to improve their performance in the series. In the combined U16 and U14 event Matthew Toman finished a creditable 19th overall. Just 2 places back, wearing her Eastlands Velo jersey, Maisy Vasic won the U14 girls event for the second week running but she was closely pressed by Niamha Albones of Liverpool Century. A further 2 minutes behind, Adam Nelson finished 24th. The new transponder system being worn by riders for the first time this year makes for interesting reading of the results, especially when fields are spread out and individual lap times are made available.

In the combined Vets and Womens event Carl Nelson was the top local rider, using his technical skills on the tricky circuit, finishing in 43rd from the 125 strong field. Richie Watts was 67th and his older brother, Adrian, just over a minute behind in 75th.

The final event of the day was the Seniors race and Matt James was the sole valley rider, coming home 33rd spot from the 67 finishers.

The action moves to Cartmel racecourse on Saturday for the next round of the series.

The role of Club Welfare Officer

The Role of the Club Welfare Officer

To distribute or otherwise communicate to all members, any relevant codes of practice, policies or updates relating to welfare issues.

To advise where appropriate, on the development of activities / events for young people within the Club.

To be a point of contact for parents / responsible adults of any young person who becomes a member*

To receive, record and if required, pass onto British Cycling Child Protection Officer, or the Cycling Time Trials Governing Body any concerns relating to the welfare of young people or vulnerable adults.

To undertake an annual review of risk assessments relating to young people / vulnerable adults and raise any issues with the Committee.

Attend committee meetings and ensure the Chairman & Secretary are fully up to date with any changes in legislation, regulation and best practice with regards to Club welfare and safeguarding.

To, where practicable, liaise with other Cycling Clubs and share best practice with regards to Club Welfare / Safeguarding / Risk Assessment.

*Existing Club policy in relation to young persons’ riding with the Club is unaffected.

 The role of the Club Welfare Officer is an advisory role and is not intended to replace, even on a temporary basis, the roles and responsibilities of parents, guardians, responsible adults or carers. The final decision as to whether an activity or event which involves young people / vulnerable adults receives approval remains at all times with the Committee of the Club.

Lisa Greenwood is Rossendale Road Club and can be contacted by email

Harry Law 10 mile TT 16/6/15

Harry Law Hapton 10 – 16 Jun 15

Tuesday night’s Harry Law Hapton 10 saw the biggest field of the year so far compete on a lovely Summers evening.  The time trial was one once again won by Chris Smith of Condor Racing in a time of 24:18.  The first three Rossendale riders finished 2nd, 3rd and 4th, they were James Tudor (25:45), Damian Ludlow (25:48) and Richie Watts (26:17)PB.

A special mention for Josh Whitehead – aged  15 of Rossendale Road Club who finished in 5th place in a time of 26:31, this was his first attempt at this course, the young man has definitely got potential.

Full results are below:

Pos Name Club Race Time
1 Chris Smith Condor 24:18
2 James Tudor RRC 25:45
3 Damian Ludlow RRC 25:48
4 Richie Watts RRC 26:17
5 Josh Whitehead (15) RRC 26:31
6 Matt James RRC 26:51
7 Russ Milnes RRC 27:04
8 Andy Russell RRC 27:22
9 Luke Dabbs RRC 27:24
10 Dave Hunt RRC 27:26
11 Joe Curran NLRC 27:42
12 Rob Aindow CSP 28:56
12 Anthony Pilling RVTC 29:38
14 Alan Sagar NLRC 30:29
15 Paul Shuttleworth RRC 30:32
16 Duncan Allton NLRC 30:57
17 Phil Entwistle NLRC 31:44
18 Natasha Newell NLRC 32:05
19 Lisa Greenwood RRC 32:36

Criterium Results Steven Burke Hub Barrowford

Report from criterium at Steve Burke Hub.
The third round of the criterium series at the Steve Burke Hub in Colne took place on Thursday April 3rd. Three local youngsters participated in a well- contested event giving excellent accounts of themselves. In the category A event Josh Whitehead raced ahead of a group of more experienced cyclists in pursuit of CSP’s Nathan Hawthorn and although he mounted a focussed pursuit of the leader for the full thirty minutes of racing he could not quite make contact and finished a creditable second. Matthew Toman raced for the first time in the 12-14 year old category B event. He too was committed throughout, riding for substantial periods on the front of a group into a strong headwind. Kate Taylor stuck successfully with this group. Kate sprinted from this group on the last lap to win her category for the second time in the series to date.